Mission: Smart Eats

I am the first to admit that I am obsessed with the Food Network. I am also first to admit that I am not a chef, cook, or great housewife (and I envy those who are). I just love food, and I love to eat. I hate diets and budgets because I feel like it prohibits me from eating and eating well.

However, I am here to challenge myself to change that paradigm. After everything that has happened in the last few months, I am the only one bringing in an income. That has caused me to be caught in a viscous cycle of wanting to eat everything, then realizing food costs money, then realizing I put on more weight, and on and on. Yes, I am an emotional eater… I am working on it!!!!

Last night I wanted to express my feelings in a creative way (instead of eating) only to find that I had a creative block. I was trying to work on a few projects and just wasn’t feeling inspired. So I decided to go to bed. Then I couldn’t  sleep because I was stressing about money, so I decided to write down our true budget. After seeing that the absolute max we can spend weekly on food AND miscellaneous (like tooth paste, oil changes, craft and sewing projects, etc.) is $60, I freaked out, then I decided to think creatively. That got me out of two funks. I got out of my creative rut and I am being proactive about my financial situation.

I am realizing more and more that I am like a kid. I have to trick myself into thinking that budgeting and such is a game or else I won’t do it!

I am on a mission to eat smart. I want to eat healthy. I want to be budget conscious. I want it to taste yummy. I want to eat smart. I realize that because I am not a chef or anything that I may not be successful 100% of the time, but I am excited to make those mistakes and learn from them. If I have any great recipes or great disasters I will be sure to share!!!

Leave a Reply

