Goals- it is the journey, not the destination

I was inspired by one of my favorite blogs (abeautifulmess.typepad.com) to set simple goals.

With everything going on my husband and I  discussed setting small simple goals for ourselves to keep us from getting overwhelmed by life’s changes. What I love about this exercise is that it isn’t focused on the end result. It is meant to help make positive choices and changes which will result in a great end result anyway.

Here are the rules that were set before me:

1. Choose simple goals that will make your life richer and happier on a daily basis. Choose things you may not otherwise get done, but that are not difficult to accomplish.

2. Do not choose result oriented goals, choose activity oriented goals. for example…. instead of “lose 10 pounds”, choose something like “eat fresh fruits and vegetables every day”. Get what I’m saying? Positive actions instead of just the end result!

3. Choose goals that are personal that you believe will truly make your life richer just by doing them! They can be daily, weekly or one time experiences.

4. Choose a reward for each goal as it is accomplished! It can be a small or large reward- it’s up to you.

5. Blog about your goals, each one as you achieve it and a big post when they are all finished before the new year!

Here are my 4:

  1. Exercise Daily. Whether it be taking a walk or jogging, doing a workout dance video (complete with Flashdance attire and minus the Jesse Spano, “so excited”), going to the gym, choreographing for the shows, I just want to do  something that requires more than my fingers to move across a key board. I get so caught up with how much weight I have gained or lost, and I want to just get caught up in living healthy. If I can do that then I will buy myself a sweet new outfit for new years.
  2. Organize thoughtfully and mindfully remain organized. Despite what many my think, I love to organize. I love to rearrange furniture. I love to catalog my craft stuffs. I love, love, love it. However, sometimes most of the time I can’t remain organized for very long. I have a wonderful filing system, I just don’t use it to its full potential. New motto, “file it, don’t pile it.” Every two weeks I can keep myself organized, I will invite a friend over for dinner, a movie, to hang out, whatev.
  3. Sew or create something everyday. There are so many craft blogs out there. This creates a problem. I am inspired to create but I get so focused on what I have to make or create for work that when I do have time to enjoy personal projects, I don’t have the energy. If I can fit in even the smallest project, or work on a big one for a short amount of time every day, then I will buy myself a new sewing table with my tax return.
  4. And last but not least… Take more pictures. I want to look back when I am older and remember these times. I love looking through old photographs of my mom. I want my future family, whatever that might entail, to have the same opportunity. We take pictures every once in awhile, but I want to really take that to another level. My reward to myself will be to once a month look through the pictures and print some of the best, not just save them to the computer or upload them to instagram or facebook, but PRINT THEM.
One thought on “Goals- it is the journey, not the destination

  1. I think this internet site contains some really wonderful info for everyone. “Good advice is always certain to be ignored, but that’s no reason not to give it.” by Agatha Christie.

Leave a Reply

